2016 HBCU Awards Finalists


    The Sixth Annual HBCU Awards Ceremony will be held on July 15, 2016 at the University of the District of Columbia. Finalists were selected from more than 600 submissions from colleges and individuals around the country, based upon media exposure and impact on institutional progress made during the 2015-16 academic year.

    Winners will be selected by a panel of previous HBCU Award winners, presidents and chancellors, media members which cover HBCUs, alumni, and students. Winners will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

    Tickets for the ceremony are available here.

    Awards in Student Activities

    Best Marching Band
    Southern University Human Jukebox
    Prairie View A&M University Marching Storm
    Virginia State University Trojan Explosion
    Florida A&M University Marching 100
    Albany State University Marching Band

    Best Choir
    Virginia State University Gospel Chorale
    Morgan State University Choir
    Tuskegee University Golden Voices

    Best Student Government Association
    Virginia State University
    Howard University
    Cheyney University
    North Carolina A&T State University
    Prairie View A&M University

    Best Student Organization
    Florida A&M Honda Campus All-Star Team
    Virginia State Girlz at the Gate
    Edward Waters Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. Chi Chapter
    SULC of the National Lawyers Guild (SULC-NLG)
    Huston-Tillotson Green is the New Black

    Awards in Publications

    Best Student Newspaper
    Southern Digest
    Norfolk State Spartan Echo
    Hampton Script
    NCCU Campus Echo
    North Carolina A&T Register

    Best Alumni Publication
    Florida A&M University Magazine
    Alcorn: The Magazine
    NCCU Now Magazine
    Oakwood Magazine

    Awards in Academic Excellence

    Best Research Center
    Southern University LIGO Center
    Delaware State Optical Science Center for Applied Research
    Jackson State University Institute of Government
    Clark Atlanta University Center for Cancer Research and Therapeutic Development

    Best Fine Arts Program
    Hampton University Players and Company
    Alabama State University College of Visual and Performing Arts
    Morgan State University Screenwriting and Animation Program
    Norfolk State University Division of Drama
    Texas Southern University Department of Music

    Best Business Program
    Huston-Tillotson University School of Business and Technology
    Morgan State University School of Business and Management
    Bethune-Cookman University College of Business & Entrepreneurship

    Best Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Program
    North Carolina A&T State University Center for Excellence in Post-Harvest Technologies
    North Carolina Central University Bio Research Institute and Technology Enterprise
    Florida A&M University College of Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences
    Tuskegee University College of Engineering
    Morehouse School of Medicine National Center for Primary Care

    Best Nursing/Health Program
    North Carolina Central University Department of Nursing
    Tuskegee University Department of Occupational Therapy
    Winston-Salem State University Occupational Therapy Program

    Best Social Work Program
    North Carolina Central University
    Fayetteville State University
    Southern University at New Orleans

    Awards in Alumni Activity

    Alumnus of the Year
    Kenya Barris, Clark Atlanta University
    Sashi Brown, Hampton University
    Rufus Wilson, Bethune-Cookman University
    Damon Lee III, Tennessee State University
    Keith Alexander, Howard University

    Alumna of the Year
    Adrienne Lofton, Howard University
    Marilyn Mosby, Tuskegee University
    Atasha Murray, Clark Atlanta University
    Brenda Stith, Virginia State University
    Edith Mitchell, Tennessee State University

    National Alumni Association of the Year
    South Carolina State University
    Southern University
    Tennessee State University
    Shaw University
    University of Maryland Eastern Shore

    Awards in Athletic Excellence

    Female Coach of the Year
    AnneMarie Gilbert, Virginia Union University
    Chandra Cheeseborough-Guice, Tennessee State University
    Hannah Lawing, Xavier University of Louisiana
    Nadine Domond, Grambling State University

    Male Coach of the Year
    Dana Ford, Tennessee State University
    Rod Broadway, North Carolina A&T State University
    Loritz ‘Scooter’ Clark, Bethune-Cookman University
    Mervyl Melendez, Alabama State University
    Willie Slater, Tuskegee University
    Mike Newell, Dillard University

    Female Athlete of the Year
    Kiana Johnson, Virginia Union University
    Victoria Elizalde, Huston-Tillotson University
    Norianna Haynes, Alcorn State University
    Amber Hughes, Tennessee State University

    Male Athlete of the Year
    Devon Gales, Southern University
    Demetric Austin, Dillard University
    Tarik Cohen, North Carolina A&T State University
    Javon Hargrave, South Carolina State University

    Women’s Team of the Year
    Virginia Union University Women’s Basketball
    Xavier University of Louisiana Women’s Basketball
    Hampton University Track and Field
    Saint Augustine’s University Track and Field
    Winston-Salem State University Softball

    Men’s Team of the Year
    Alcorn State University Football
    North Carolina A&T State University Football
    Dillard University Men’s Basketball
    Xavier University Men’s Tennis
    Tennessee State University Men’s Basketball

    Awards in Individual Achievement

    Female Student of the Year
    Destiny Modeste, Paul Quinn College
    Allyson Carpenter, Howard University
    RaCia Poston, Tennessee State University

    Male Student of the Year
    Keith Granderson, Virginia State University
    Tamina Kienka, North Carolina Central University
    Lionel Morgan, Shaw University
    Jalaal Hayes, Delaware State University

    Female Faculty Member of the Year
    Idonia Barrett, Hampton University
    Wanda Spurlock, Southern University
    Elania Jemison Hudson, Morehouse College
    Hadiyah-Nicole Green, Tuskegee University/Morehouse School of Medicine

    Male Faculty Member of the Year
    Stephen McGuire, Southern University
    Robert Collins, Dillard University
    Gregory Henderson, Winston-Salem State University
    Gregory Henry, Tennessee State University

    Highest Honors

    Female President of the Year
    Tashni-Ann Dubroy, Shaw University
    Glenda Baskin Glover, Tennessee State University
    Debra Saunders-White, North Carolina Central University
    Cynthia Jackson-Hammond, Central State University

    Male President of the Year
    James Anderson, Fayetteville State University
    Michael Sorrell, Paul Quinn College
    Harry Williams, Delaware State University
    Edison Jackson, Bethune-Cookman University

    Historically Black College/University of the Year
    Delaware State University
    North Carolina Central University
    Tuskegee University
    North Carolina A&T State University
    Paul Quinn College
    Winston-Salem State University
    Tennessee State University